Sequels

Today I am announcing that I will be reviewing a game or two that came out a few years ago.  This may seem an odd time to review these game.  And you know what?  It is.  So why am I reviewing it?

I’m reviewing it because they have some things in common.  They are decent games with a stellar sequel.  This is something that seems to be a common theme lately, one that even my mother picked up on.

“There seems to be a lot of ‘Two’ games out there,” she told me one day

“Huh?”  I looked at her, confused enough to pause my game of Dead Space.

“The title,” she told me, “There seems to be a lot of sequels coming out.”

“Ah.” I said, ready to return to my gaming session now that I understood what she was saying, but I stopped for a moment to think about it.

Now, my mother is not a gamer in any sense of the word.  In my hobbies I am much more like my father than my mother.  In fact, she is a very stereotypical female gamer.  She plays Bejeweled and word games like virtual Scrabble and its clones.

bejeweled screen shot

Who wouldn't rather spend all their time matching colored gems than, say, saving Hyrule or Ferelden.

She does, however, live in a household with two gamers, my father and I.  Because of this, she hears us discuss new games and sees the boxes when we forget to put them away.

To a non-gamer, media experience with sequels has always been less than awesome.  Movies sequels range from the occasional good/great one to the more common mediocre or bad one.  They have a reputation as being quick cash-ins riding on fame.  And every movie after a second in a sequel seems to decrease in quality, sometimes even ending in the virtual dunce-cap wearing straight-to-dvd zone at the fifth or sixth movie.

shrek forever after poster

Seriously? This is going to theatres? Well it makes more sense than that chipmunk movie 'squeakel' being in theatres. I mean, really? Who am I kidding, I'll probably go see this Shrek too...

Game sequels are different as many gamers have noticed and have been discussing.  Right now, there are many many games coming out as sequels in a series.  Final Fantasy XIII just came out, a famous example of when a series lasts for a long time.  God of War III just came out, ending a trilogy.  These are great games, and they are at the top of their series along with being the most recent.  Some recent sequel games are Left for Dead 2, Just Cause 2, Mass Effect 2, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2(not the second for Call of Duty, I know, just Modern Warfare), Bioshock 2, and Assassin’s Creed 2.  Game sequels increase in quality usually, but what becomes of the first game?

This is why I am to review the firsts of game series.  I will only review a few that I have actually finished, and I will review them for a few reasons.

The first reason would be that they are actually fun games.  Yes, they may be hardly perfect, but they are still decent games.  This ties into my second reason.  Because the second game has exceeded the first, people may feel that those games do not deserve a playthrough.  I say no.  I will weigh pros and cons of the games and tell you that they may not be the best the series has to offer, but they deserve a playthrough.

Tomorrow: Assassin’s Creed

Leave a Reply

