Gamecrush

I’m sure by now you’ve heard of the new site that launched called Gamecrush.  Along the same lines as a phone sex line, this site promises a female companion gamer for about eight bucks per game.  The site claims that they model the price after the price of buying a girl a drink in a bar.

Let’s let this sink in for a moment, shall we?  I certainly had to.  When I first heard about it, I thought, “Guys are lonely and just wanna play video games with some women?  Can’t they do that for free online(or with an xboxlive gold account)?”  My second thought was, “Sign me up!  Cash for beating some guys at games? I do that for free all the time.”  So I looked into it.  Not to join, but out of curiosity.  What I found was not what I expected.

The reason I needed a day or two to let this sink in and to think about it was because I wasn’t sure what to think.  As per usual, my first reaction was to be horrified and repulsed.  My second reaction was thinking that these guys are stupid for paying for this type of thing, the gals were geniuses, and I should sign up for game money.  My third reaction was somewhere in the middle.  I’ve decided I won’t sign up, though that was never REALLY an option for me because I don’t want to be judged on a hotness scale.  It would make the other girls envious(jokes).

It would seem some women will use this site and be very sexual.  There is a way to set moods to ‘flirty’ or ‘dirty’.  A flirty girl will flirt and play.  A dirty girl, well, I assume that’s where this service gets a bit closer to a phone sex line.

So in the end, for some women this could be a bit of extra cash for simply doing what they usually do.  For others, women who want a bit of cash but don’t care about the heavy breathing, this becomes no better than a sex line.

So after careful consideration, I’ve decided that if the women on the site are actually kicking ass at games and making sure their personalities and intelligence shine through, then fine.  Take your gaming money from the lonely nerds.  Flirt a little.  Unfortunately, I fear that the site will be used for men to type one handed, viewing the women as sexual objects.

We shall see, eh?  What will the future hold for this site?  All I know is, I’m going to continue playing with guys and kicking ass for free.

Further reading here, here, here, and here.

Leave a Reply

